Entrepreneurs and marijuana activists who wish to apply to open a medical marijuana dispensary in Massachusetts only have until Thursday to hand deliver their initial application to the State Department of Public Health.
Medical Marijuana Dispensary Application Deadline Approaching in Massachusetts
Aug 19, 2013
“The Department has created a solid regulatory framework for this new industry, and now we are ready to move forward with the competitive application process,” DPH Commissioner Cheryl Bartlett said in a press release.
Massachusetts’ medical marijuana law allows for 35 dispensaries throughout the state. Dispensaries will be able to provide medical marijuana to patients suffering from illnesses such as cancer, glaucoma, and AIDS.
Thursday marks the end of the first phase of the application process. In the first phase, regulators will review each applicant’s financial viability and conduct background checks.
Applicants who clear the first screening will then move onto a second phase where a selection committee will review the final applicants.
Participating in the application process isn’t cheap. Applicants must pay a $1,500 fee in Phase One, and those who move on to Phase Two must pay an additional $30,000. Both fees are non-refundable.
Applicants who are selected to open a collective will also have to pay an annual $50,000 fee for a state Certificate of Registration. “The application and patient registration fees that DPH has put into place are in line with other states and will be affordable to patients,” Bartlett said in a statement. “Dispensaries will be required to pay their fair share to support this program, so we do not rely on taxpayer resources.”
The fees will be put back into regulating the program, including paying for staff. It is expected that the fees collected from dispensaries will be enough to totally fund the program and keep it self-sufficient.
Some cities in Massachusetts have already voted to ban collectives from opening within their communities.